Saturday, December 31, 2011

Let's Dance the Night Away

Happy New Year's Eve.

Taken December 13, 2011.

Click image to see larger version

Friday, December 30, 2011

Garden of Ice III


Taken December 8,9, 10, 2011.

Click image to see larger version

Thursday, December 29, 2011

Rising Above


Taken December 11, 2011.

Click image to see larger version

Wednesday, December 28, 2011

A Shadow of Design


Taken December 7, 2011.

Click image to see larger version

Tuesday, December 27, 2011

My Impressions Are Golden


Taken December 10, 2011.

Click image to see larger version

Monday, December 26, 2011

Time Flies When You're Having Fun


Taken December 5, 2011.

Click image to see larger version

Sunday, December 25, 2011

Sunday Poetry Post

Have a berry, berry, berry Christmas

click for larger


Maniac Magee
by Jerry Spinelli
(Excerpt from Chapter 31)

Snow had fallen several days before. In much of the town it had been plowed, shoveled, and slushed away; but in the park -- along the creek, the woods, the playing fields, the playground -- it still lay undisturbed, save for the tracks of rabbits and squirrels. Beyond the tall pines, stars glittered like snowflakes reluctant to fall.

They visited their tree. They stood silently, just to be near it, letting the magic of it drift over them. In the pine-patched moonlight, the Queen Anne's goblets looked for all the world like filigreed silver.

They walked the creek woods all the way to the zoo, meandering wordlessly throughout the snowy enchantment. As if by design, they both stopped at the same spot, above the half-submerged, rooty clump of a fallen tree. Somewhere under there, they knew, was the den of a family of muskrats. The old man laid a pine branch at the doorway. Maniac whispered: "Merry Christmas."

Saturday, December 24, 2011

A Monstrously Good Christmas

to all who celebrate it.

Taken December 9, 2011.

Click image to see larger version

Friday, December 23, 2011

Garden of Ice II


Taken December 1 and 2, 2011.

Click image to see larger version

Thursday, December 22, 2011

Signs of Things to Come

Greetings to Winter 2011

Taken November 29, 2011.

Click image to see larger version

Wednesday, December 21, 2011

Living in the Sticks


Taken November 26, 2011.

Click image to see larger version

Tuesday, December 20, 2011

Another Way of Seeing Sunset


Taken November 25, 2011.

Click image to see larger version

Monday, December 19, 2011

Bebo and Sniff Dream Warm Thoughts for Beth


Taken December 11, 2011.

Click image to see larger version

Sunday, December 18, 2011

Sunday Poetry Post

Green glass, goblin.

click for larger


from Land of Heart's Desire
by William Butler Yeats


Come, faeries, take me out of this dull house!

Let me have all the freedom I have lost;

Work when I will and idle when I will!

Faeries, come take me out of this dull world,

For I would ride with you upon the wind,

Run on the top of the dishevelled tide,

And dance upon the mountains like a flame.

Saturday, December 17, 2011

Hanging on for Dear Life


Taken November 27, 2011.

Click image to see larger version

Friday, December 16, 2011

Stratified


Taken November 21, 2011.

Click image to see larger version

Thursday, December 15, 2011

Close-up Moon Shot?


Taken November 21, 2011.

Click image to see larger version

Wednesday, December 14, 2011

Bathing the Moon

A bit of weirdness: this is at sunrise and it's in the southern sky.

Taken November 19, 2011.

Click image to see larger version

Tuesday, December 13, 2011

Garden of Ice


Taken November 18, 2011.

Click image to see larger version

Monday, December 12, 2011

Not Standing for It

Bebo joins Zen Sniff in pondering the grave injustice of being made to go outside when the humans leave.

Taken November 24, 2011.

Click image to see larger version

Sunday, December 11, 2011

Sunday Poetry Post

Outside Looking Out

click for larger


Window
by Adélia Prado


A pretty word, window.
Window: the wingbeat of the yellow butterfly.
Two carelessly painted wooden shutters open out,
clumsy blue window.
I jump in and out of you, ride you like a horse,
my foot dragging the ground.
Window on the open world, from where I saw
Anita, expecting, get married, Pedro Cisterna’s
mother urinating in the rain, from where I saw
my love arrive on a bicycle and say to my father:
I have only the best intentions regarding your daughter.
O wooden-latched window, child’s play for thieves,
peephole on my soul,
I look into my heart.

Saturday, December 10, 2011

Finding Focus


Taken November 15, 2011.

Click image to see larger version

Friday, December 9, 2011

Hanging On Till the End of Day


Taken November 16, 2011.

Click image to see larger version

Thursday, December 8, 2011

Speckled Things


Taken November 14, 2011.

Click image to see larger version

Wednesday, December 7, 2011

We Lichen Rocks


Taken November 10, 2011.

Click image to see larger version

Tuesday, December 6, 2011

Going the Distance


Taken November 9, 2011.

Click image to see larger version

Monday, December 5, 2011

Follow the Leader?


Taken November 19, 2011.

Click image to see larger version

Sunday, December 4, 2011

Sunday Poetry Post

Floral Fungus

click for larger


Dirge in Woods
by George Meredith


A wind sways the pines,
And below
Not a breath of wild air;
Still as the mosses that glow
On the flooring and over the lines
Of the roots here and there.
The pine-tree drops its dead;
They are quiet, as under the sea.
Overhead, overhead
Rushes life in a race,
As the clouds the clouds chase;
And we go,
And we drop like the fruits of the tree,
Even we,
Even so.

Saturday, December 3, 2011

A Farewell to Color


Taken November 7, 2011.

Click image to see larger version

Friday, December 2, 2011

Over the Edge


Taken November 7, 2011.

Click image to see larger version

Thursday, December 1, 2011

Covering the Spread


Taken November 6, 2011.

Click image to see larger version

Wednesday, November 30, 2011

Color by Sunset

Both taken November 5, 2011.
Click images to see larger versions

Tuesday, November 29, 2011

Frost by November


Click image to see larger version

Monday, November 28, 2011

Life on the Edge


Taken November 6, 2011.

Click image to see larger version

Sunday, November 27, 2011

Sunday Poetry Post

Looking For a Place to Hide from Winter

click for larger


A Noiseless Patient Spider
by Walt Whitman

A noiseless, patient spider,
I mark’d, where, on a little promontory, it stood, isolated;
Mark’d how, to explore the vacant, vast surrounding,
It launch’d forth filament, filament, filament, out of itself;
Ever unreeling them—ever tirelessly speeding them.

And you, O my Soul, where you stand,
Surrounded, surrounded, in measureless oceans of space,
Ceaselessly musing, venturing, throwing,—seeking the spheres, to connect them;
Till the bridge you will need, be form’d—till the ductile anchor hold;
Till the gossamer thread you fling, catch somewhere, O my Soul.

Saturday, November 26, 2011

Remembrance of Seasons Past


Taken November 4, 2011.

Click image to see larger version

Friday, November 25, 2011

Bound for Burnt Umber


Taken November 2, 2011.

Click image to see larger version

Thursday, November 24, 2011

Always Thankful


Taken November 7, 2011.

Click image to see larger version

Wednesday, November 23, 2011

High Contrast

Both taken November 1, 2011.
Click images to see larger versions

Tuesday, November 22, 2011

One Fine Day


All photos taken October 31, 2011.

Click images to see larger versions

Monday, November 21, 2011

As Easy As Dogs on Logs

Click images to see larger versions

Sunday, November 20, 2011

Sunday Poetry Post

Light in November


click for larger



Earth
by John Hall Wheelock

"A planet doesn't explode of itself," said drily
The Martian astronomer, gazing off into the air—
"That they were able to do it is proof that highly
intelligent beings must have been living there."

Saturday, November 19, 2011

Because Candis Said

that I should post these two pictures together ("they really complement each other in a micro/macro way"), I am.
Both taken October 30, 2011.
Click images to see larger versions

Friday, November 18, 2011

Both Sides Then

Both taken October 29, 2011.
Click images to see larger versions